Newsletter subscribe


Ryu wins ANA Inspiration in playoff after Thompson’s penalty (The Associated Press)

Posted: April 2, 2017 at 10:21 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Lexi Thompson high-five fans as she walks to the 18th green during the final round of the LPGA Tour's ANA Inspiration golf tournament at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif., Sunday, April 2, 2017. Earlier in the round, Thompson found out she had been assessed a four-stroke penalty for a rules violation Saturday. Thompson had a chance to win the tourney on 18, but left an eagle putt an inch short. So Yeon Ru won a playoff on the first hole. (AP Photo/Alex Gallardo)

Lexi Thompson had no idea why LPGA Tour rules official Sue Witters was approaching her on the way to the 13th tee at the ANA Inspiration. When she found out, Thompson still couldn’t believe it. A television viewer’s email had alerted officials to a day-old rules violation by Thompson for a 1-inch ball placement error .

Yahoo Sports – Golf News

Comments (0)

write a comment

Name E-mail Website

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.